Networking from the age of 7 (but I didn’t know it).

My girlfriend ventured out to the shops to buy the obligatory Friday night bottle of wine and came home with the Panini World Cup 2010 sticker album (along with the wine ;-)). I surprised myself by how excited I was with the purchase. It’s been years since I last purchased a world cup sticker album – I think it would have been Mexico ’86 or even Italia ’90. But anyway, as I was sticking players I’d never heard of into position I thought back to the days in school when whole breaktimes would be spend looking for other boys to swap doubles and get that all important ‘need’. I seem to remember each person would shuffle the whole pack and the other person saying ‘got’, ‘got’, ‘got’ ‘need’ should a sticker come up that they needed. How the hell we remembered we needed Gok Chung Pu from North Korea I’ll never know but we did.
What I’m writing about is that, this essentially, was my introduction to networking; each person potentially had something that we needed. So basic networking groups were formed. We even ventured into a rival school and formed networks after school with the network in there. As you get older you forget how easy networking can and that it can become a necessary bore. But if you think about it in the way we did when we were kids then it becomes fun again. It’s not the England badge I’m after nowdays but an essential bit of knowledge, industry gossip or simply a website recommendation.
Last night changed my outlook on networking but I draw the line at doing saking the kids at the train station if they have this year’s elusive player.

Leave a Reply

